• Amtrak ACS-64 Sprinter Discussion

• Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.
Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.

Moderators: GirlOnTheTrain, mtuandrew, Tadman

by ryanov

603 was back in Yard E when I passed yesterday evening.
  by ThirdRail7

Tadman wrote:Why are the ACS's in the middle of the engines every time? Doesn't that make for more work at Sacramento and Chicago to fish them out? IE you have to uncouple the power from itself as an extra step? And isn't there some type of FRA reg that mandates that dead-in-tow locomotives go immediately behind the live power? I'm no expert here, just trying to understand. Obviously I see that they're not going to flagrantly violate the rules.
Tadman, during the tests the ACS worked better if they were coupled to the "B" end on the P-42s since it eliminated the need for adapter cables. As such, they decided to sandwich the moves, even though it can go without being sandwiched.
train2 wrote:I am only qualified on diesels, but I would guess this works the same on an electric: The unit would be set to isolate, which in theory still allows fault circuits to communicate with the head end to indicate things like locked axles, etc. to the engineer via he MU cable. The only thing I don't know is how power, not traction, but electrical (not talking catnery either) is handled. Can a loco make a cross country trip and have things powered like the computer on battery power only? I can't quite remember if battery's are charged thru the MU cable? Again this in rare territory have an electric stay off power for so long.
They are D.I.T. and the ACS-64s, HHP-8s and Acela power cars do not have an isolation feature.

I seroiously doubt you'll see any of these in revenue service before the end of the month, although one is completing shakedown runs.
  by ApproachMedium