• Mott Haven Yard, Bronx, N.Y.

• Discussion relating to the NYC and subsidiaries, up to 1968. Visit the NYCS Historical Society for more information.
Discussion relating to the NYC and subsidiaries, up to 1968. Visit the NYCS Historical Society for more information.

Moderator: Otto Vondrak

by benlein

In 1963 I was an electrician on the New York Central RR.
I worked there until long distance passenger and pullman
car service became sporadic, and I was laid off. I'm trying
to recall some memories from my time there for a
memoir. I've looked on Google maps, but can't seem
to pinpoint the location of the Mott Haven yard in the
Bronx. I'd appreciate any info on the streets bordering
the old yard, or an aerial view picture. I remember that on a
relatively quiet day and if the wind was right we could
hear the cheering from Yankee Stadium.
Appreciate any feedback,
Mike Klein
Alexandria, VA.
  by Otto Vondrak

Mott Haven Yard was bordered by Grand Concourse, East 149th Street and Park Avenue. Go to Google Maps and you can see clearly what is left of the area. The yard itself has been built upon over the last 40 years, but the junction remains busy.
  by benlein

Wow, that was fast. Thanks very much.
Mike Klein
  by DutchRailnut

http://www.bing.com/maps/ and type in right info and it has nice Bird eye view of old yard property.
old highschool next to wye and new high school being completed on part of old yard property.
it still shows old MO tower.
  by Rockingham Racer

The "old" high school is Cardinal Hayes H.S. In its heyday, it educated well over 2,000 boys.
  by nycboy