• Lynchburg VA NE Regional (ext. to Roanoke and Bristol)

• Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.
Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.

Moderators: GirlOnTheTrain, mtuandrew, Tadman

by Matt Johnson

They were talking about service to Roanoke when I was a student at Virginia Tech in the mid-90's. Maybe over 20 years later it'll happen, but I'm not holding my breath. 5 or 6 years to extend the existing Lynchburg train a few miles? In China they'd probably build several thousand miles of new 220 mph high speed rail in less time.
  by Arlington

If I read Station Afficianado correctly, he's not saying extend today's LYH to GRO via ROA. Leave ROA for 2018, but *right now* extend the LYH train along the Crescent's pax-ready route to a place that isn't too small (as Danville would be) or too far (as Charlotte would be), so he hit upon Greensboro.

But critics seem right to me that somewhere an hour beyond LYH and Petersburg, there's an imaginary arc that is about as far as you want a "real" NEC train to go, so you will get as far as ROA and NFK from the NEC, but anything farther is going to need a WAS-originating train and a big non-Virginia anchor city (like Knoxville, not Bristol; Greensboro or Charlotte, not Danville)

Sadly for all such ideas, *everyone* wants a new train across the Potomac (and can't have one).

So it is a real bind: can't extend the NEC trains you have for fear of killing reliability, and can't do new WAS-originating trains due to DC-area bottlenecks.
  by Station Aficionado

Arlington wrote:If I read Station Afficianado correctly, he's not saying extend today's LYH to GRO via ROA. Leave ROA for 2018, but *right now* extend the LYH train along the Crescent's pax-ready route to a place that isn't too small (as Danville would be) or too far (as Charlotte would be), so he hit upon Greensboro.