• King of Prussia area railfanning

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in Pennsylvania
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in Pennsylvania

Moderator: bwparker1

by t-croz

Please excuse a "foreigner" in your midst. I usually peruse the New York forum, but will be travelling to King of Prussia this weekend. I was wondering if there are any nearby locales to spend an hour or so watching trains.

I noticed on mapquest that there is a Yard just north of the "Mall" along the river. Can anyone relate a brief history of this yard on a newby? Is there a vantage point to watch the activity there? Radio frequency(s)?

I will be with family (daughter at a sport tournament) but may have time to take my son out to get some fresh(or diesel) air.

Any advice for an out-of-towner would be appreciated.

Thanks,
T-croz

by jimk

I'm not an expert, but I've been out there quite a bit. There is a yard but not many good places to sit and watch. But, if you follow N Gulf Road towards Valley Forge, there is an intersection with W Valley Forge Rd. Keep on N Gulf where it bears left, make a right which is almost straight. There is an old bridge that goes over the tracks, and the old Valley Forge station. This is a good safe place to sit and wait for trains. Go to http://local.live.com/ and find King of Prussia, zoom in, follow N Gulf (rt 363) until you find County Line Road. Then click on Aerial view and you'll better see what it looks like.

by PARailWiz

I second that location. I've been there several times and there are a number of good vantage points, the best being the intact waiting bench that faces the tracks. If you let me know which way you're coming from, I can give more detailed directions.