• Hiring Question

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

by tbh0007

Okay, So here is my situation. I finished college in May 2014 with the worst degree ever (History) aside from Basket Weaving. I've wrestled with the job market so far and lost. I've applied for all different types of jobs and either not got calls back or was over qualified and at this point I just want to work. I have a friend from school who has been a railroader since he was 19 (now he's ten years in and doing pretty well) and told me I should try it out. The problem is I've applied for every Conductor job within two states reach in every direction (7 posts for NS) and have already been turned down for two of them. My question is how do I make my candidate profile stand out. I have a college degree and they said no. I mean I've been unemployed for over a year now and that may look bad, but our job market here is awful unless your medical field or an engineer. Any ideas would be much appreciated, I'll be checking back daily. I just want to work and be a productive member of society again. This is ridiculous!
  by rovetherr

Have you looked at some smaller roads? Often times shortlines are willing to hire on someone that the Class 1's don't select for whatever reason. There is also usually some flexibility in moving between crafts, so if you don't like train service, you can switch to MoW or Mechanical, or vise versa. The pay won't be as good, but there is RR retirement.