• Grain Rush

• Discussion about the Union Pacific operations past and present. Official site can be found here: UPRR.COM.
Discussion about the Union Pacific operations past and present. Official site can be found here: UPRR.COM.

Moderator: GOLDEN-ARM

by Tadman

When does the grain rush typically start? I'm an out west transplant, and would like to observe this phenomena.

by SteelWheels21

Where are you working out of? We get most of the grain rush here in Portland, I've heard that there are 2 growing seasons but it changes due to weather factors. You'll know it's happening when you start seeing a ton of those big purple leased Canadian units. The grain pool is an easy job, road work but you're home every night. Unfortunately it's feast or famine, you're either 8 on 8 off or working every third day.

by Tadman

Well I don't work for the railroad (yet), but I just moved to Kansas so I have no idea how the grain rush works. I'm a student, but I'm hoping to join the management team at KCS or BNSF after I get my law degree.

by TB Diamond

Out in eastern Colrado and western Nebraska the rush normally begins in late summer and runs till late fall or early winter. Lot of variables such as crop size, grain prices, export markets and the storage capacity at the various elevators to name a few. On the BN(SF) 54 and 108-car grain trains were the norm. Many elevators extended their trackage to accomodate these trains which were made up of C-6 covered hopper cars.

by GOLDEN-ARM