• Comparisons of T.E.

• General discussion about locomotives, rolling stock, and equipment
General discussion about locomotives, rolling stock, and equipment

Moderator: John_Perkowski

by railfan365

I've read that the ACLO RS-2 is rated for a bit more continuous TE than an EMD MP-15, consistent with putting out 100 more hp. However, it's rated for slightly less starting TE. While I'm not an expert on the applicable power curves, I'm still wondering - what good is the additional continuous TE if there's not as much power available to get a load moving?
  by Allen Hazen

Beware of quoted figures of starting tractive effort: for several decades it was conventional to give this, for diesels, as one quarter of the total weight (on powered axles) of the locomotive. A reasonable rule of thumb, perhaps, since (before the great improvements in anti-wheel-slip electronic controls starting in the late 1970s) this was about the adhesion limit: try to exert more tractive force than about a quarter of the weight on drivers and you'd just spin your wheels uselessly. But it is at best an approximation.

After that disclaimer… In answer to your question, with a high starting tractive effort you can get a train started, but how fast you can keep it moving depends on the tractive effort you can continue to exert after starting. Since starting tractive effort is greater than continuous t.e., this will be a lower figure. For the locomotives you mention, minimum continuous speed is, I guess, somewhere between 10 and 15 m.p.h. Below this speed, using full engine power will result in a tractive effort greater than the continuous tractive effort: a locomotive can do this for a while, but the traction motors will heat up, ultimately to a damaging (as in: I smell smoke!) temperature. So, to run at a speed lower than the continuous speed for a lengthy period, you have to run the engine at less than full power.