• Commuter Rail to Rhode Island Discussion

• Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.
Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.

Moderators: sery2831, CRail

by juni0r75

mental757 wrote: I agree that Kingston is a no-brainer - there is room for a 3rd track on the west side of the 2 Amtrak mainlines that could accomodate CR.
When I was a student about 10 years ago at URI Kingston, I was very interested in the station there because it was (in the words of the local stationmaster) the last rural station of the pre-NH type that was in use on the former Providence and Stonington Railway (built in 1874...I think its been a loooonngg time).

Anyway, the point I wanted to raise is that when the overpass for RI 138 was built in 1936-8, it was purposly built to bridge 3 and possibly 4 tracks. At that time, there were active sidings in regular use for Arnold Lumber on the Fairground Road side (opposite the station) and for a layover / transfer for the former Narragansett Pier RR which terminated there and ran via Wakefield to Narr. Pier village (as an aside, the tracks for the NPRR terminated in what is now the parking lot with for a time it's own plaforms.The last time I was there, the hole which held the former turntable was still visable with an explanation sign!). Before the post-war decline in the NH, there were three tracks in regular use at Kingston.
After the station restoration, there were three tracks under the overpass, and one access road to the station (which means that you don't have to cross traffic on 138 to get into the station!).