• Chicago Union Station Lockers?

• Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.
Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.

Moderators: GirlOnTheTrain, mtuandrew, Tadman

by scoostraw

I'm going to have quite a bit of time to kill at CHI, so my plan is to go somewhere and do something. To do this, I'll need to stash my bags someplace. It looks like the storage lockers have a 3-hour limit (@ $4 per hour!).

I'm going to need 5 or 6 hours. Is there another option for coach passengers?
  by jamesinclair

I have no experience in Chicago, but when I had to do something similar in NYC, I did a google search. Supposedly, some hotels offer baggage check for a fee, and NYC had one or two businesses dedicated to baggage storage (with security theater xrays included)

I would suggest doing a similar google search for chicago. You probably wont find any real baggage storage websites, but youll be directed to travel forums with people offering advice. Thousands of people find themselves with the same issue every day.
  by MACTRAXX

SS: Try Amtrak Baggage check at CUS-with an Amtrak ticket if you choose you may check your baggage to your
destination or they can handle it for the time required until your connecting train...

Another thing to remember if you check bags in they must be closeable-I once had things I was carrying in a canvas tote bag that they rejected on a past trip that I ended up being stuck with...luckily I had no problems and the transfer/layover was short...
That is not a problem obviously for check lockers...

MACTRAXX
Last edited by MACTRAXX on Wed Sep 14, 2011 6:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
  by EricL