Discussion related to New Jersey Transit rail and light rail operations.

Moderators: lensovet, Kaback9, nick11a

by F40

Before a train departs, is there a 'right' way to release the brakes and start up? When I got off at Metro, the engineer released the brakes, then the train rolled back 1-2 ft., and caught the brakes. It then attempted to try again and the same thing happened once more.

Was this an oddity or was the engineer 'checking' the brakes before leaving?

by nick11a

What I think happens is that sometimes when the train brakes are released, the train rolls back due to gravity before traction is drawn. The easiest thing I think to fix this would be to just reapply the brakes and try again releasing and also to try to be quicker drawing traction. Sometimes it takes a few tries to get the train moving. I'm no engineer though so I could be wrong.

by F40

But can traction be drawn while the train is inching backwards?

by nick11a

I think it can (not sure- at least it does in Train Simulator :D) but it would be a lot quicker to get it moving if you just reapply the brakes so you don't have to fight gravity and inertia trying to get the train moving.

by Jtgshu

I know the engineers could explain this better than i can, but this is in a nutshell how i understand it.