• Amtrak HHP-8 Discussion: Use, Reliability, Disposition

• Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.
Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.

Moderators: GirlOnTheTrain, mtuandrew, Tadman

by rcthompson04

I wonder if running them as a control cars would be a violation of the lease terms based on intended use. Doesn’t sound like the intended use, but I am an equipment finance attorney on the lessor side by training so I might be naturally taking a harder line.

I would use them as control cars, but limit them to the Keystone Service using their pantographs for HEP only.
  by ApproachMedium

The HHPs are extremely problematic as we know. The central block of the HHP has been decommissioned but not removed. All components are still in the loco but stuff is bypassed/cut out i dont know how they were able to get them to function as a cab car yet but we shall see
  by R36 Combine Coach

Well, truth is stranger than fiction. Who'd thought this could happen to the HHP8s?

The AEM7s seemed to have higher chances of returning to service in some form.
  by ApproachMedium

The problem here is the HHPs are on the property. The AEM7s would have been much better suited but amtrak no longer owns any.
  by Gilbert B Norman

Pensyfan19 wrote: Wed Dec 08, 2021 2:49 pm HHP8 691 is currently in DC to be utilized as a test train for HHP8 cab car use (without its pantographs) for alleged service on the Vermonter and Ethen Allen.
Look for 90691 to be on the roster, should this "experiment" prove successful. Since Amtrak has previously "had their knuckles rapped" for tampering with the lessor's equipment, they obviously have struck a deal with them.

I understand, owing to the apparent direction reversal at Rutland, need for such when the Ethan Allen is extended to Burlington, but why The Vermonter?