• Advice on the CSX testing and working for the railroad

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

by All-in

Hey there everyone! I'm a newbie here and am seriously considering a job with the railroad. I've already had the interview and I'm waiting for the call for the next testing session. I just missed the one that started earlier this week in Cincinnati.

Are the tests open book, timed or multiple choice on the mid term and final exam?

I'm looking forward to reading the replies and any advice you may give me. This is a big step for me. I've been at my current job 10 years now and I'm a bit nervous about taking that step.

by DJ

Well I guess it's my turn to help somebody out.

Friday is my last day at AMDG, and I fly out to Atlanta on Sunday. Our letters telling us to report to REDI came in today, but they won't be handed out untill we pass the Operating Rules test. We took our GIT today.

Most of the tests are mutiple choice, with some word matching and completing work order forms. With the word matching, you get a question and write the answer out on the answer sheet.

I wouldn't say that the school is hard, but there is alot of information to absorb in a short time. My class only has four other guys in it, so I think that may have helped.

Get your signals out of the way as soon as possible. You have to know these word for word. Towards the end, things do get a little harder, and you don't want this hanging over your head.

You only get your hands-on equipment three times, but that is not the purpose of this school. Just make sure you can hang on to the side of the car for 5 minutes, and give hand signals while doing it.

As far as being on the job, I wondering about that myself. I can't wait to get to ATL and get on some moving equipment.