• Acca Yard Info Request

• Discussion of the operations of CSX Transportation, from 1980 to the present. Official site can be found here: CSXT.COM.
Discussion of the operations of CSX Transportation, from 1980 to the present. Official site can be found here: CSXT.COM.

Moderator: MBTA F40PH-2C 1050

by xrywinx

Hey all,
I just moved to Richmond from Maine & boy is there a lot more train activity down here! It's a lot harder for me to keep track of what is what. I go by the Acca quite frequently in my week to week routine. Anyone got any info on what goes through here? Does the q171 & q173 still run? What sort of IMs are coming through here (in Maine it's almost entirely GM)? I'm starting from scratch so anything helps! Also scanner frequencies would help.
  by roberttosh

I'm far from an expert, but I believe there's two NB and two SB Intermodals between Jax and N. Jersey, something like Q172,173, 174 & 175. I also believe there's a Chicago-Portsmouth, VA Intermodal train that may run through Acca as well. The N-S, I-95 line may have another 10-12 manifests and the occasional coal or grain train. Not sure if all traffic on the old C&O goes through Acca, but I think one manifest off that line originates/terminates there and there's also coal trains, many going to Newport News, but again, not sure if they go through Acca. Between both lines, I'm guessing that CSXT must run at least 25-30 through trains a day through the city.
  by elbow