• A day in the life of a conductor?

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

by jphill

Ok so I just received the awaited e-mail to start the physicals and background checks. I know this is still the early stages but the closer it gets and the more information I provide the more questions the wife is starting to ask. I have posted before that being a former Police officer I know of shift work and long hours but I would like to know if anyone can help me out with what it is like to be a conductor. I know starting off I will be working nights/weekends/holidays and have no problem with that but would like to find out information on the following. How many overnights can you expect to do during a work week? What do the hours usually consist of? Thanks again for any information you can give me and if you want to PM me to give me more info then great. The more info I get the easier it is on the wife. Thanks again for everyone help.
  by COEN77

Hard question to answer. Very few jobs if any on the road have regular calling times. Those that do it takes seniority to hold. It's being on call 24/7/365. The bigger question is how long will someone be at home in between runs under FRA manditory rest it's a minimum of 10 hours. Everything depends on location and business. Working an extra board one could get out on their rest frequently. On CSX it seems people are spending more time in lodging than at home.
  by AEM7AC920