• 40 Year-Old Trip Report vs. Today - Zephyr

• Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.
Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.

Moderators: GirlOnTheTrain, mtuandrew, Tadman

by Jeff Smith

https://www.insider.com/how-amtrak-has- ... 2023-6?amp
I uncovered photos from my grandparents' Amtrak ride 40 years ago. Then, I booked a trip to try to recreate them.

In October 1984, my grandparents took an Amtrak train from Denver to northern California so that my grandmother could attend a library conference.

They flew from their Massachusetts home to Denver and hopped on the California Zephyr Amtrak, which still runs almost the same route today. My grandfather, though a doctor by profession, took hundreds of photos everywhere they went with a Canon AE-1 and a Leica.

About 40 years later, I found perfectly preserved slide trays from this trip (and others) while opening boxes in my grandma's house.

While going through them, I was able to step into the past — and I felt inspired to take an Amtrak ride of my own with the same camera.
  by MACTRAXX

JS and JP: Isn't October 1984 actually 38 1/2 years ago? 40 years would be October 2024 - or later...
I am not a fan of "rounding" off actual dates - just a "peeve" that I have...Why not use "Almost 40 Years" which actually is the case of this California Zephyr trip and reads better...

I took a brief look at the article - my device is not good with multiple pages even though I would have liked to have seen more of the CZ - 80s Amtrak outside the NEC with the very-visible F40PH units...
Note the Superliner car named "George M. Pullman" in honor of the Pullman Company...

Something I have grown to STRONGLY dislike is the use of the term "Train Car(s)"...Not only does it sound awkward to me - it does not fully describe what they actually are the way that even "passenger car" would...