Railroad Forums 

• What makes a good...

• General discussion about railroad operations, related facilities, maps, and other resources.
General discussion about railroad operations, related facilities, maps, and other resources.

Moderator: Robert Paniagua

#239176  by daybyday

There were some other posts on here about what makes a good conductor/good engineer, so I'm gonna go with that theme and ask: what makes a good Trainmaster or Yardmaster? ***(see note below before replying)

I'm currently a driver manager for a trucking company who moves a lot of freight via rail/intermodal, so I'm pretty familiar with all the Class 1's and I'm thinking of making the switch to UP. I've worked in transportation for about 7-8 years in an office and just want to get out of the office ASAP. I considered & have asked several questions on here about applying for a conductor position, but I just don't think the unpredictable schedule would go over well with the wife. I know I'd be working long hours, weekends & holidays (as do most of the transportation companies I've worked for) but at least the hours would be somewhat more predictable and at least I'd be out of the office.

Anyway, I see a lot of similarities between what I'm doing now and the job description of UP's training program. For one, we have tons of managers that have less (or no) experience than the people they are managing. They usually have a tough time getting started until they prove themselves and gain some credibility with those they are managing. We also have lots of jobs at my company where anybody can do it, but very few are good at it.

So I guess my questions are:
1) Will my transportation experience be helpfull in an interview and if I get the job?
2) What separates a new hire from becoming the F#$%ing new guy versus someone you're willing to work with?
3) And finally as the title states, what makes a good TM or YM?

Thanks, DBD