Railroad Forums 

• What is required for a job as an MBTA Subway Operator (Motorman)

• Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.
Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.

Moderators: sery2831, CRail

#1592458  by SgtBreadSt1ck

I am a Sophomore living in New York City and I wanted to operate trains here, but it seems like this city is becoming more dangerous, so my next best option is Boston. What are the requirements? Is there something that I should know beforehand? Is it a good work environment? I just need general advice and information. Thank you in advance.
 #1592749  by Rbts Stn

I was not aware that NYC was becoming so much more dangerous that people were leaving for other major cities.

"Sophomore" is kind of vague, not sure what that has to do with your goal. Do you have any train experience?
Last edited by CRail on Tue Mar 01, 2022 11:22 pm, edited 1 time in total. Reason: Unnecessary quote removed. Do not use the "Quote" button as a "Reply" button.
 #1592751  by Disney Guy

First step is a lottery which has been held at irregular intervals approximating every two years and applicants' names put on a list. There have been separate lotteries for bus operator, motorperson, customer service (on the ground) rep, and a few other position. The lotteries have been known to go into over 20,000 names.

The T then draws names a few at a time from the lottery in order as needed and as months go by. If someone has taken a different job somewhere else then his/her name is passed over. I think the motorperson lotteries (rapid transit and light rail) took about 5,000 names each before the lists were discarded and new lotteries held.