Railroad Forums 

• Hudson & Harlem Div. private commuter club cars

• Discussion relating to the NYC and subsidiaries, up to 1968. Visit the NYCS Historical Society for more information.
Discussion relating to the NYC and subsidiaries, up to 1968. Visit the NYCS Historical Society for more information.

Moderator: Otto Vondrak

#1436560  by TCurtin

I remember when I was a college student in New York in the 60s the Harlem Div. trains had two commuter club cars. These were obviously converted from 1920's heavyweight coaches and presumably were leased by groups in ritzy destinations like Chappaqua and Katonah.

In addition there was one leased club that operated on the Hudson, and it was a one of a kind oddball. It was painted in the MU car scheme of olive with yellow trim and equipped with electric appliances to operate as an MU trailer --- although sometimes it was seen at the rear of a locomotive hauled train. Can somebody tell me what trains this was assigned to in the 60sm and where the club members originated?

I imagine these club operations lasted until the coming of the M-1's put an end to amenities like that, just as happened over on the New Haven.
 #1439698  by H.F.Malone

The third-rail equipped car had a round roof, not the usual clerestory roof. The windows were the usual square-cornered sash, fixed in place as the car was air-conditioned. I think the car was number 98. The electric equipment was to provide power for lighting, heat and a/c.

The "other" NYC heavyweight club car looked identical to the then-common rebuilt "Harlem Division Coaches", in two-tone gray, round-corner rubber-gasket windows, and clerestory roof. That car was number 97, and was commonly on a Brewster train. It was in service as late as 1970-71.

By 1966-67, there were some streamlined club cars, rebuilt from 6-double bedroom/lounge cars, in service on the Harlem and Hudson Divs.
 #1439736  by Noel Weaver