Railroad Forums 

• Battery Powered Locomotives?

• General discussion about locomotives, rolling stock, and equipment
General discussion about locomotives, rolling stock, and equipment

Moderator: John_Perkowski

#1422585  by l008com

I'm wondering if this is possible? My knowledge level about day to day rail operations is limited to average railfan level. I'm also not an engineer (train or otherwise), nor am I trying to be the guy has the magic idea that change the world's transportation industry. I'm just curious about the practicality of this.

The idea I had was basically a box car that was a giant lithium ion battery. The most important question is, is there enough power from a battery like this to run a train for a useful amount of time. Trains have the great advantage that its insignificant to make the train a few feet longer. So, say you had a box car that was all battery, you could pair that up with a custom tanker car if needed that had the sole purpose of cooling that battery. Also in theory you could plug existing locos right in and run them as slugs with the diesel engine off, right? If so, that diesel would also make for a nice safety net to prevent stranded trains, or switching then the battery is dead to at least electrify part of the route.

I wouldn't see a setup like this being something that a railroad would convert their whole fleet to. More like slowly ease it in on specific routes where it would be well suited. You probably wouldn't be able to charge these on site, you'd probably have to have your own network of "batteries" that you move around your network, to and from those key routes, to charging spots. The benefits of working in bulk would probably make it worthwhile moving whole trains of dead batteries and swapping them with trains of charged ones. You could build charging stations in areas where you can get cheaper power, like building your own hydro electric dam or wind farm specifically for the purpose of charging.