Railroad Forums 

• MBTA Fare History - 1970's

• Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.
Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.

Moderators: sery2831, CRail

#6518  by cw0829

I "remember" joyriding the T on Sunday's for free in the 1970's exploring new and different stops, but am having trouble validating that. Does anyone remember this as well. I was a poor college student at the time, and don't think I'd have paid to joyride.

TIA,
Cathy

#7010  by TomNelligan

Around 1974 or 1975 the MBTA had a long-running promotion called "Dime Time" where the midday (and weekend?) subway and bus fare was just ten cents, in an effort to boost ridership at a time when the system had been loosing passengers. Maybe that's what you were thinking of? Or maybe they did have some free Sundays then; I was also a college student at the time and you know how our memories are now...

#7161  by cw0829

HI Tom, yes, I remember Dime Time as well, which I understand to have been just on weekdays. The following link is to a historical retrospective on the T, which you might find interesting.

http://www.stlibrary.org/TChronicle.html

Surprisingly, my husband also remembers free Sunday fares, but then again, he's even older than I am...

Thanks for your reply.
Cathy

#9017  by nightowl

How did dime time work? Did the turnstiles accept coins in the 70's? Or were tokens just a dime? If so wouldn't people just buy a bunch of tokens for a dime and use them at non-dime time times?

Really I just like the phrase "dime time". The article Cathy linked too had these related dates:

April 2, 1973 Dime-time introduced-Experimental reduced fare program for all persons entering rapid transit stations between 10 a.m. and 1 p.m., Monday through Friday.

September 1, 1975 MBTA's minimum surface fare raised from 20 cents to 25 cents.
 #9030  by TomNelligan