Railroad Forums 

• Long Island City and Hunterspoint Ave.

• Discussion of the past and present operations of the Long Island Rail Road.
Discussion of the past and present operations of the Long Island Rail Road.

Moderator: Liquidcamphor

#26083  by Indiana_Doc

How come the railroad only runs trains to LIC and HP during rush hour? As long as I can remember (early 80s) those western terminals were only used at rush hour. Did they receive more action in the past?

Indiana

#26086  by Dave Keller

Back in 1973 and 1974 when I worked as a summer Special Services Attendant, we worked many Montauk-bound parlor trains from Hunterspoint Avenue, leaving in the late afternoon/early evening if I remember correctly.

Also, LIC had LOTS of passenger activity in years past. Many trains pulled by steam locomotive as well as electric DD1s originated out of LIC.

How far back do you wish to go? LIC once was the main terminal of the LIRR and the depot housed the LIRR offices before a massive fire destroyed the building and most of the LIRR employee records as well as other important documents.

Commuters would take the train to LIC, disembark and take the LIRR's ferries over to 34th street.

The fire at LIC and the opening of the tunnels under the East River into Penn Station in 1910, as well as the construction of the new LIRR terminal and offices at Jamaica in 1913 helped to slow down the activity at LIC, however it still had substantial traffic into the the 1950s!

Dave Keller

#26095  by Indiana_Doc

From the 70's to the present. Why such a severe decline?

Indiana

#26106  by krispy