Railroad Forums 

• "B" Tower is in shambles! Please read...

• Discussion of the past and present operations of the Long Island Rail Road.
Discussion of the past and present operations of the Long Island Rail Road.

Moderator: Liquidcamphor

#19580  by emfinite

Hi all,

I recently started riding my bike again to "B" Tower right next to Beth Interlocking between Bethpage and Farmingdale. About three weeks ago, the tower was broken into (the piece of plywood that blocked the doorway was kicked down) and the insides were trashed. Chairs, air conditioners, papers, lights, glass, tables and everything imaginable were thrown out of the windows. There are fresh cans of empty spray paint all around and there is also fresh graffiti on all facades of the building.

Does the railroad take any notice to this at all? The fence adjacent to the bicycle path, that runs to Bethpage State Park, was cut through maybe 5 years ago and it has been the same ever since. Kids go there at night to do drugs and drink as evident by the dozens and dozens of broken 40 oz. bottles and Budweiser cans all over the lot.

I usually hear an incident once a month where a train calls into 204 reporting kids on the tracks monkeying around. Last summer, a group of kids put a long metal stretch ladder across the switch for the Central branch and an eastbound Speonk train hit it and it got stuck between the engine and the first car tearing apart MU hoses and brake lines.

I would really like to help do something about this and maybe volunteer some of my time to build some new fence, paint the building, or just clean up the area. I hate seeing it like this, it's just getting worse and worse.