Railroad Forums 

• Kew Gardens and Forest Hills 4 to 6 car platforms

• Discussion of the past and present operations of the Long Island Rail Road.
Discussion of the past and present operations of the Long Island Rail Road.

Moderator: Liquidcamphor

#1481038  by adamj023

Looks like the LIRR will add larger platforms for two more trainsets to platform at each station.

Really good news for everyone who uses these stations. I presume fixing the cracked concrete of the existing platform will be included in the project.

http://www.mta.info/news/2018/07/27/lir ... ew-gardens" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

I was on the train which was overcrowded during offpeak and train got delayed and had to stop before it restarted. Not sure what happened today. The LIRR had four car platforms at these stations for a really long time, at least since I have been using it for many years.
 #1481126  by adamj023

Forest Hills and Kew Gardens always had short platforms. I don’t see why a full 12 car platform couldn’t be built, perhaps there is something that prevents this. I believe other platforms may have been lengthened as part of double track or station renovations but i am not sure.

Apparently due to East Side Access construction, some Kew Gardens and Forest Hills trains were suspended earlier.
 #1481160  by MACTRAXX

Everyone: Good idea to extend the Forest Hills and Kew Gardens platforms two cars more allowing
six cars to platform at each. At Forest Hills the extended platforms would be the east ends on both
sides. At Kew Gardens there is adequate room on both sides on the west end.

TB: There is a good core ridership from both Forest Hills and Kew Gardens that will justify adding
extensions to both of their platforms...The transit alternatives are the overcrowded E and F trains
on paralleling Queens Boulevard along with some express and local bus routes into Manhattan.