Railroad Forums 

Discussion of the past and present operations of the Long Island Rail Road.

Moderator: Liquidcamphor

#1478950  by ExCon90

That's right (reading from bottom to top) -- now, is 11 the acknowledging pedal? And did engineers have their own name for it? Or was making an immediate brake application sufficient to forestall a penalty application without the need to acknowledge?
Another question: at that time the indications did not include Approach Medium; I believe that on passing an Approach Medium wayside signal the cab signal indication did not change until an intermediate point in the block where it dropped to 30, but I'm now seeing some posts suggesting that Approach Medium has since been added. Is that the case?
 #1479016  by RGlueck

The heavy steel control panel and indicators look so primitive in the modern era. Great photo.
 #1479064  by Head-end View

They were the norm on the LIRR when I started riding in the Summer of 1969, but even then the equipment when it was getting used every day was in far better condition than in this photo.
 #1479065  by BobLI

If I remember correctly, those cars that were rebuilt in that number series were the best riding MP 54’s.
     #1479554  by nyandw

Here's what I have received thus far: Help! :-)

1,2,3. Air brake gauges, but I don't know the order on these cars. Typically Main Reservoir, Brake Cylinder, Equalizing Reservoir, and Brake Pipe indications, two needles per gauge face on most installations, but I really have no clue for MU cars.

4. ????

5. cab signals - The three aspects were 15, 30, MAS Speed restriction lamps. There was a tiny air whistle which went off when allowed speed became more restrictive, to alert the motorman. Oops, the engineer.

6. Maybe headlamp switch, judging by position and similarity to 1930s vintage same.

7. Windshield Wiper pneumatic operating cylinder