Discussion related to commuter rail and rapid transit operations in the Chicago area including the South Shore Line, Metra Rail, and Chicago Transit Authority.

Moderators: metraRI, JamesT4

by MACTRAXX

Everyone: With the 40th anniversary of my first Chicago visit passing I wanted to mention and ask about the subject
of Chicago and vicinity street and transit maps - I offer these thoughts to begin: Street Maps

When I first visited Chicago I obtained a copy of the Standard Oil Company Chicago Street Map...I studied that map intently
and it helped (along with learning some rules on the City's layout such as eight long blocks equalling one mile) get me to
learn the City and nearby suburban region's layout...As of 1973 those maps were still FREE and even when gas stations began
charging a nominal price (50 cents to $1) for them later on in the 70s they were still worth it...

The Standard Oil Map showed somewhat accurately all the railroads and even the CTA rapid transit lines which was another
reason that I always liked them and had interesting details such as the length in feet of O'Hare Airport's runways listed...

Over time I have learned of the Chicago Tribune and AAA map series for regional and City street maps and I want to ask all:
What are your favorite and most reliable Chicago street maps and why? Are their others that offer good detail such as
showing railroads (a must in my opinion) and CTA RT lines also?

What company puts out the best Chicago street atlases?
That is something that I do NOT know about and I have never obtained one...

CTA Transit Maps:
In 1973 the CTA was still issuing maps printed in just one color-the purple June 1973 map was in effect on my first visit...

In 1976 the CTA issued its first Downtown Transit Map and began to use color on their maps - and when the RTA got involved
beginning in 1977 the CTA issued its first transit maps color-coding the rapid transit lines and in 1978 the RTA issued it first