Discussion related to commuter rail and rapid transit operations in the Chicago area including the South Shore Line, Metra Rail, and Chicago Transit Authority.

Moderators: metraRI, JamesT4

by justalurker66

Somehow I missed Joe when I went to IRM last month. It is good to see it running!

(Was it out of its usual place last month to be set up to run?)
  by lstone19

JLJ061 wrote:Wow! I didn't think 600 volts would even be enough to move that monster? lol
Pulling just a few cars and despite coasting pans down through the trolley frogs, it was quickly up to the 30mph track speed. I had a very nice ride behind it this afternoon.
  by F40CFan

Never thought I'd see one of those beasts move under its own power again.
  by dinwitty

I'll share a quick story posted on the Milwaukee group...

Back in 2000-1 when I was working out of Bensenville I spent a lot of time out at IRM working on the 1603 and 33C. Since I was a qualified engineer, I did a fair bit of "hostling" at the museum. (If it's a diesel and it runs out there, I've probably pulled the throttle before. 760 was a fave. I was engineer on it for the MRHA meet that went to IRM back then.) One night a few of us decided the Joe needed some fresh air. (I always called it the Joe which annoyed the electric guys there. heh It was an 800 to them) As I recall it had a compressor problem, so we pumped up the air off the diesel we used to pull it out with.

Once we had it in front of the depot and some air on it, I put the pan up and turned on the headlight. After climbing down and admiring the sight, in the darkness it looked like it was out in Ringling or Martinsdale in front of the depot, I climbed back up and figured what the hell. Let's see if it moves.

Yep, it moved no problem on 600 volts. (The South Shore was 1500 if memory serves)