Railroad Forums 

Discussion related to commuter rail and transit operators in California past and present including Los Angeles Metrolink and Metro Subway and Light Rail, San Diego Coaster, Sprinter and MTS Trolley, Altamont Commuter Express (Stockton), Caltrain and MUNI (San Francisco), Sacramento RTD Light Rail, and others...

Moderator: lensovet

#413919  by Tadman

From what I've heard, there's a lever that engages/disengages a "gripper" from the moving cable beneath the street. In this day and age there may be an electrically controlled gripper rather than a "armstrong" style, but I'm no expert.

#413957  by 3rdrail

SF Cable cars today are virtually the same now as they were in the 1800's. They are a National Historical Site, and as such, are tightly controlled as regards to modifications, etc. The grips are not electrically controlled, but instead controlled by good old-fashioned elbow grease and are the same ones which have their origins in designs made by men like Andrew Hallidie and Henry Casebolt way back when. A few variations in style of grip manifested itself in the early years, but the one found under today's cars was found to be the best for it's application. It also was developed in the 1800's. They have no motors, but instead - through the grip - clamp onto a moving cable underneath the street which pulls them along. The powerhouse which drives the "rope" under the street is electrically controlled, and is located at Hyde/Washington Sts. It is a great thing to see and the cars are wonderful machines to experience.

#413974  by modorney

As 3rd rail says, this is basic technology. Gripmen (they work for Muni) clamp on to the cable, and for braking (and intersections) they release the cable. Brakes, themselves are wooden shoes.

At intersections, where cables cross, one wire is on top, and the other is below. The "below" cable car releases its grip and rolls through the intersection. They are sloped, and gravity works every time.