Railroad Forums 

• Riding Coach - Would You Or Wouldn't You?

• Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.
Discussion related to Amtrak also known as the National Railroad Passenger Corp.

Moderators: GirlOnTheTrain, mtuandrew, Tadman

#1540571  by Gilbert B Norman

Admittedly, this topic is inspired by one similar and active at another site. But since no one here or anywhere is doing much in the way of riding for any reason at this time, there must be time to share thoughts, particularly if overnight, whether saving the $$$ precedes any measurement of comfort or any possible "experiential" enjoyment.

I think any around here who have followed my material over the past twenty one years know my thoughts. How say someone else lead off.
 #1540577  by Tadman

I have been in the situation of riding coach overnight in the past. In most cases I was a broke university student and Amtrak coach was a cheap way to visit friends over Christmas break or summer. One time I had to do it on the Caledonian Sleeper as I forgot to buy a ticket and there was only one seat left on the whole train, in coach.

I don't mind Amtrak coach for 6 hours or so, and more is possible if I can get up and move around a bit, maybe enjoy a non-smoking smoke break on the platform. It's a tough bet overnight, especially as there is no way to keep one's seat-mate out of one's space if he or she starts nodding off and sliding in the wrong direction. I would rather fly late or early than do this again.

The Caley was a different story. I was in a 1-facing-2 and despite the lack of available tickets, nobody showed up. The headrest had large wings as most BREL Mk3 do, and a padded/upholstered center armrest. After using blinders and earplugs, it wasn't bad. I'm not itching to do it again, but I would if I had to.