Railroad Forums 

• Why do I keep getting tricked by my telephoto lenses?

• Discussion of photography and videography techniques, equipment and technology, and links to personal railroad-related photo galleries.
Discussion of photography and videography techniques, equipment and technology, and links to personal railroad-related photo galleries.

Moderators: nomis, keeper1616

#186164  by Otto Vondrak

I am an amateur photographer. I've snuck my way into Railpace a few times and a couple of books, but that's about it.

I have been shooting slides for about five years with my trusty Pentax K-1000. I have three lenses- a fixed 50mm, a fixed 28mm, and a fixed 135mm. Let's say it's a bright sunny day--blue dome, Kodachrome sky, whatever you want to call it--and I'm trackside in the Northeast. I slap on the 50mm lens and head trackside. My camera's meter says f8 at a 250th. Oh, but I want to capture the S-curve down the line a bit, so I slap on the 135mm. Now my meter says I'm a full stop too dark at f8/250. I decide the wide shot is better- I slap on the 28mm, and now my camera says almost a stop and a half too much light at f8/250.

Needless to say, I've ruined a lot of shots by "compensating."

I rely on the meter in the Pentax to tell me what's what. The only time I deviate is when it's cloudy or overcast or twilight, more or less.

Should I invest in my own hand-held meter, and rely on that? In the meantime, should I only rely on the meter reading from the 50mm lens?

-otto-

#186238  by MEC407

When you're using the wide angle lens, you're capturing more area (and more light). When you're using the telephoto lens, you're capturing less area (and less light). That's why you get different meter readings with different lenses.

#186248  by railohio

MEC407 nailed it right on.