Railroad Forums 

• Veteran but new to this

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

#1001407  by Miz860

Hello all i am trying to find any up to date info on becoming a conductor with norfolk southern. I just applied to a conductor position there and am just wondering how long this process could take and how it works. A little about myself i recentlyy got out of the army i am a iraq war veteran and am home with my wife and kids. I have been trying to get a career for a year now i recently got my cdl class a they said that might help me in this field i am wondering why if anyone knows that answer. Again any and all info would be much appreciated.
 #1001573  by matawanaberdeen

well first off thank you for your service. I am glad you are back in good health with your family. Now on to NS, they are the railroad that actually moves quicker than the others as far as hiring goes. That is a good and bad thing. Its good because its quick, its bad because they are a very rough RR to work for. My suggestion would be if CSX is in your area or another railroad like BNSF then go that route. I had a friend that was in the first Iraq war, a veteran and tough dude and he only made it two months with NS, he now moved to the mid west to work for BNSF. Not trying to scare you at all, just giving you what I know. The process with NS usually works quicker so look for a hiring session to be called soon. Good luck to you in your quest.
 #1001579  by Miz860

When you say tough what do you mean??? I have no idea as to what the job consist of so please help me understand. I have csx in my area and i have applied but i have heard they are not that good to work for either????? Thanks in advance.
 #1001592  by AJLB