Railroad Forums 

• Steam turrets and dynamos

• Discussion of steam locomotives from all manufacturers and railroads
Discussion of steam locomotives from all manufacturers and railroads

Moderators: Typewriters, slide rules

#925121  by #7470

It's hard to learn about steam locomotives when it all has to be self taught. That's the problem with us younger college guys. I was hoping the main steam turret could be described to me. I know it has to do with supplying of steam to all the accessories or main functions but I'm not entirely sure. Also, I bought the 1925 Locomotive Cyclopedia last summer and have been doing a lot of reading. I came across dynamos. Where are the dynamos located? Are they those little mechanisms in front of the cab with the tube that spews steam out of it? Or are they located in the headlights? Info and pictures would be greatly appreciated and this will be only the first of many questions I post on here. Thanks for helping me learn.
 #925153  by Eliphaz

A steam turret is a valve manifold- a pipe fitting with several branches, each with a shut off valve.
here's one on an old logging engine,
this web site has lots of nice discussions about building 7 1/2" gauge live steam engines.
http://www.nelsonslocomotive.com/

a Dynamo is a steam turbine-electric generator set. Generally theyre mounted on top of the boiler near the cab.
in steam locomotive days Pyle-National built alot of them
 #925528  by #7470

Thanks for the info. So is the dynamo what makes that distinct high pitch sounds on steam locomotives?
 #925547  by Eliphaz

#7470 wrote:Thanks for the info. So is the dynamo what makes that distinct high pitch sounds on steam locomotives?
I confess I havent seen very many steam locomotives in operation, but Ive been around stationary steam turbines for many years, and I imagine a turbine that size exhausting to atmosphere would emit a high pitched whine.
 #925768  by steamjunkie