Railroad Forums 

• Abandoned Locomotives?

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in New Jersey
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in New Jersey

Moderator: David

#1329879  by Fencer

A while ago I was tracking an abandoned RR from the air and saw a row of a locomotives. Located by Dover, NJ. They seem to be preserved but don't look pretty. What are they?

#1329959  by DutchRailnut

just because NJT stores the ALP 44 on their owned track, don't assume their abandoned ?? just sayinn.
 #1329983  by Fencer

Fencer,
While I will grant that there is probably no extant common carrier authority on the Cutoff, what is the legal rationale for stating that either locomotives stored on their owner' real estate or the real estate itself is in fact abandoned?

GME
Hi GME,
I am very new to RR without previous experience. Observed those machines for some time without any activities or movements around them and thought why not to ask on respectable forum. No legal rationale. Thanks for clarifying.
 #1329993  by scottychaos

Trainlawyer wrote:Fencer,
While I will grant that there is probably no extant common carrier authority on the Cutoff, what is the legal rationale for stating that either locomotives stored on their owner' real estate or the real estate itself is in fact abandoned?

GME
There is no legal rationale..
The reason the O.P. said the railroad line, and the locomotives were " abandoned" is obvious: simple ignorance. ;)
(I don't mean that as a "put down"..not everyone knows everything..)
Scot
 #1330117  by ccutler

Fencer,

Thanks for posting the aerial photos!

Those locomotives look to be in a remote location, that is hopefully secure and far from most "taggers;" but if they are not in a secure area, it may only be a matter of time before they are "discovered" and vandalized.

I wouldn't leave $50MM+ of equipment out in the forest, but hey, NJ Transit has done worse.
 #1330126  by cjvrr