Railroad Forums 

• Utica branch review

• Discussion related to New York, Susquehanna & Western operations past and present. Also includes some discussion related to Deleware Otsego owned and operated shortlines. Official web site can be found here: NYSW.COM.
Discussion related to New York, Susquehanna & Western operations past and present. Also includes some discussion related to Deleware Otsego owned and operated shortlines. Official web site can be found here: NYSW.COM.

Moderators: GOLDEN-ARM, NJ Vike

#381374  by JoeCollege

Hi all, just FYI-

Substantial washouts remain between Oxford and Greene on this line. In many places south of Brisben, the tracks are basically suspended across small gorges washed out last June. South of Oxford there are tree trunks still across the line.

I have no first hand knowledge, but I doubt this line will receive any funding to be rehabbed. Any rail funds at this time would, I think, be directed to CSX to get some upgrades. Chenango County manages to bide its time rather than be proactive seeking any funding to clear the line.

#381432  by washingtonsecondary

Thats why a substantial portion is being abandoned.

#381475  by Cactus Jack

A far cry from the 1970's and early '80's when Chenango County had alot of industry that depended on rail traffic and they were very vocal against any moves by EL or CR to downgrade service. Sherburne alone used to be good for over 1700 cars / year in early CR days and Norwich was even busier till the last year or so before NYSW. Problem is that virtually nothing is left

Greene - Maxson Feed, Agway, Page Seed - all gone

Brisben - Farm Machinery - gone

Oxford - DPW, Marshman Farms, Feed Store - gone

Norwich - Victory, Agway Fertilizer, New Berlin Feed, Smith Eqpt, Norwich Distributors, IL Richer, Sheffield, Norwich Eaton, Briggs Lumber, Victory Refrigerated Warehouse all once vital rail customers all gone.