Railroad Forums 

• UP Trains Collide in Goodwell, OK

• Discussion about the Union Pacific operations past and present. Official site can be found here: UPRR.COM.
Discussion about the Union Pacific operations past and present. Official site can be found here: UPRR.COM.

Moderator: GOLDEN-ARM

#1155677  by Backshophoss

What bothers me is that the crew of the EB train crew had just barely gone on duty 2 hours before the wreck,
while the WB train crew,on duty for 5+ hours was alert and following the wayside signals,did that EB train crew
have proper rest before going on duty??
 #1155749  by Semaphore Sam

I was an airline/military pilot for 36 years...crew rest was always difficult, and many flights back then, and today, have been flown by very tired crew-members. Ways of dealing with this varied...get a lot of exercise at a hotel, booze, anything to try to get to sleep. Management traditionally was NOT sympathetic to crew having insomnia, or a noisy hotel environment, or much of anything else. Declaring fatigue marked one as a slacker. Our rest rules usually had us starting rest at a particular time, and then having a scheduled departure...if, after rest was over, we were on 'standby', this standby period was limited to 12 hours, when we would be returned to another period of mandatory rest. Is this the case in the railroad industry? My understanding is, that after a work shift, crews are put into rest, but, after the rest is over, you are on permanent standby until called out. This could result in some crew being awake 16-18 hours, putting head to pillow, and before sleep comes, being called out. Could someone confirm that this is the case? If so, people could be awake 27-30 hours, and still be on a legal turn; it is no wonder people fall asleep at the front end. Just askin'. Sam
 #1155838  by Silverliner II