Railroad Forums 

• UK train driver wanting to move to US

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

#1549911  by UKtraindriver

Hello,
This is my first time on this forum so please be kind.

I’m currently a mainline train driver in the UK which is like a Class I Locomotive Engineer in the US. I’ve always wanted to move to the US but the immigration is so tough. My question is, are there any companies or depots in the US which have a shortage of conductors/engineers and would be willing to sponsor from the UK/abroad? I know the answer is generally no but I am just wondering if there are any obscure depots, for example, in remote parts of the country where they are struggling to recruit conductors/engineers and therefore would sponsor someone for an EB-3 visa. I also appreciate that whilst I would have to start as any other trainee would and would have to do all the training, my experience as a train driver may help demonstrate that I have the right skills for the job.

Thanks for any advice. I am expecting the answer to be a firm no but just want to check if there is any possibility at all. I do understand that most, if not all, railroad companies will require you to be a citizen/permanent residency so it would be a matter of getting a green card on my own first (which unfortunately looks near impossible).
 #1550045  by qboy

There are quite a bit of furloughed qualified Engineers and Conductors throughout the industry right now with FRA licenses. I'm not saying there aren't any smaller obscure companies looking for train crew. Your chances are extremely low.
 #1550264  by UKtraindriver