Railroad Forums 

• Getting a job in MTA/LIRR/Metro-North

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

#1030505  by X5Liam

Hi Guys

I had a question, and i wanted to see what the best course would be. Alright, I'm new to the whole train world, but I've always wanted to be able to drive a train, so I guess the word for that would be the conductor. My question is, how should I go about climbing that ladder to reach to that point, to be able to drive a train. I've already been looking at job postings on the mta.info site but they require you to have some kind of experience doing something train related and since i have none I don't know where i should start. I checked out Amtrak and they had jobs available, for example Assistant Passenger Conductor Trainee, but that would require me to move to another state because they don't have any here in NYC. I figured that I could do that because they teach you how to work the trains and I'd pick up a few things and eventually would come back to NYC after awhile and be a conductor here. That would of been plan B. But I want plan A for me to find something here and work my way up. Any ideas?

Thanks
 #1030641  by keyboardkat

The conductor does not drive the train. On the suburban railroads, the title for that job is "Engineer." On the MTA subway, it is "Train Operator" (formerly "motorman," but since today we have members of both sexes operating trains, the "Train Operator" designation was deemed less sexist).