Railroad Forums 

• NS in Harrisburg

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

#864307  by ArcadeFire78

Newbie here, love the forum by the way. A lot of info and interesting reading. I do have a question about NS and Harrisburg. They are always hiring there and I am leaving the service soon and wondering if furloughs are common considering they are constantly seeking applicants for Harrisburg? Is Harrisburg a relatively and I stress relatively safe bet for employment?
 #865108  by IRN750

There are no safe bets but Harrisburg is a busy terminal and always seem to need men. Works does slow up for the new guys from Jan thru April but after a few yrs that should not be a problem. Also Harrisburg has alot of people coming up on retirement so that will help things. If you would hire out in Harrisburg you would also be able to work in other locations such as Balt. Md, Reading,Allentown,and Altoona to name a few. Hope this helps you.
 #865189  by ArcadeFire78

Yes, it does help a lot. Thanks so much. This is a time of transition for me and I really need to make informed decisions. So it is very appreciated. I want to be able to provide for my wife and baby on the way. I love outdoor work and just want a solid career. Plus, I am excited to be back in central PA where a lot of the family resides.
 #865447  by IRN750

I was told today that they are planning to hire 80 more people in Harrisburg just for your info.
 #865734  by ArcadeFire78