• TRYING TO GET ON BNSF

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

by scooter321

I AM TRYING TO GET ON WITH BNSF, SO FAR I HAVE APPLIED FOR SEVERAL POSITIONS AND ONLY OFFERED 1 INTERVIEW FOR A TRACK LABOR POSITION AND DID NOT GET IT. I WOULD REALLY LIKE TO GET ON AS A CONDUCTOR BUT AM NOT SURE WHAT ALL IT TAKES. I AM A HEAVY EQUIPMENT OPERATOR AND HAVE APPLIED FOR MANY DIFFRENT POSITIONS THAT THEY HAVE POSTED JUST TO GET ON THE RR. WELL, I DID SEE THAT THEY POSTED A CONDUCTOR POSITION TODAY ON THE WEBSITE FOR KANSAS CITY KANSAS. I APPLIED AND SURE WOULD LOVE TO GET IT SINCE IT WOULD BE ONLY 1 HOUR NORTH OF MY HOME. IF ANYONE HAS ANY ADVISE I WOULD SURE LIKE TO HEAR IT.

by dirtbrother

First off stop yelling. Second, if you want to get hired out in KC as a conductor go to NARS. Yeah, yeah a lot of people will argue but out of the 16 guys I hired out with last January, 15 of us were NARS grads.

by PSNOUS

A lot of NARS grads in KC are already waiting for positions to open up in KC.........

by Gadfly

My question is WHY is it so important to be in train service? I'm not getting on your case; it is simply a question. Why not take the track maintenance position and see how you like it. Sometimes it is easier to get hired/transferred from WITHIN the company that it is to get on "cold turkey." After all, if you establish a good employee record in one department, it gives you an "edge" and many companies are good at transferring people to new jobs and crafts. That's how I got into the clerks craft many years ago. I hired in as a laborer and then got cut off after 3 years. (Southern Railway) I had a good work record and (not to brag at all), but was known to the supervisors as a good, willing worker.