Railroad Forums 

• The end of the line for the NYA???

• Discussion related to NYAR operations on Long Island. Official web site can be found here: www.anacostia.com/nyar/nyar.html. Also includes discussion related to NYNJ Rail, the carfloat operation successor to New York Cross Harbor that connects with NYAR.
Discussion related to NYAR operations on Long Island. Official web site can be found here: www.anacostia.com/nyar/nyar.html. Also includes discussion related to NYNJ Rail, the carfloat operation successor to New York Cross Harbor that connects with NYAR.
 #376489  by lirrelectrician

Hello all,
I am an LIRR electrician working at the Morris Park shops. I have been hearing some noise and some of it coming from LIRR higher ups , that they are looking to take back the freight operations. I believe the 10 year lease that the NYA has with the LIRR is up this year, so it might not be a pie in the sky rumor.
However, I have heard these grumblings in the past and nothing happened. Maybe some others in the know here might know more info.
Thanks
Mike S. LIRR Electrician-Morris Park Shops
 #376632  by Sir Ray

lirrelectrician wrote:Hello all,
I am an LIRR electrician working at the Morris Park shops. I have been hearing some noise and some of it coming from LIRR higher ups , that they are looking to take back the freight operations. I believe the 10 year lease that the NYA has with the LIRR is up this year, so it might not be a pie in the sky rumor.
However, I have heard these grumblings in the past and nothing happened. Maybe some others in the know here might know more info.
Well, is it 10 or 20 years first of all:

"Long Island gained a new 263-mile railroad Monday, May 12 [1997], when New York & Atlantic Railway Co. (NYA) train No. 100 pulled out of Fresh Pond, N.Y. at 5 a.m., traveling down the Montauk branch of the Long Island Rail Road.