Railroad Forums 

• Seattle to New York on 8 and 48

• Tell us where you were and what you saw!
Tell us where you were and what you saw!

Moderator: David Benton

#787056  by John Laubenheimer

A recent business trip took me west to Seattle. I flew out (the less said the better) and rode the rails home. Below is a short synopsis of my experience. (BTW ... I've been riding the rails since 1967; so, I'm not a newcomer to this experience.)

Empire Builder – Amtrak #8 – Seattle-Chicago – Friday 2010/3/19

Boarded at 4:20 PM – car 0831/Deluxe Bedroom B
Departed Seattle promptly at 4:40 PM
On time/waiting for time until Spokane merge with #28 from Portland
Consist:
2 engines – 1 pointed east/1 pointed west
1 baggage
1 crew-dormitory
2 sleepers
1 diner
2 coaches
1 sightseer lounge (from here down - on at Spokane)
2 coaches
1 sleeper
Train took on many passengers (ski vacationers) at Whitefish, Montana – train full
On time/waiting for time until Grand Forks, North Dakota
20 minutes late at Fargo, North Dakota, due to the cresting of the Red River
EB waded across the Red River
About 40 minutes late by Detroit Lakes, 45 minutes late by Staples and St. Cloud, Minnesota
15 minutes late arriving at Minneapolis, Minnesota – on-time departure
Remained on-time until Tomah, Wisconsin
30 minutes late at Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, due to freight train interference
20 minutes late at Milwaukee
At Rondout, Illinois, the METRA district enters, and EB stuck behind a commuter train
30 minutes late into Glenview, Illinois – same at Chicago Union Station (at 4:25 PM)
Food was very good – diner was regularly operating with a wait list – dinner was by reservation
Track anywhere from exquisite (not much) to atrocious … mostly fair
BTW … I’ve never been impressed with the ride qualities of Superliner stock – too much sway
Sleeper attendant excellent – dining car service excellent