Railroad Forums 

Discussion relating to the D&H. For more information, please visit the Bridge Line Historical Society.

Moderator: MEC407

#56174  by DJ

I think this is an old bridge for the D&H. It also crosses Rt. 32 and has a D&H shield on it.

I've been driving on 787 for almost 20 years, and have never seen a train use this bridge. 787 has been rebuilt and the bridge has not been torn down. It looks like there are trees growing on the ROW now.

Can anyone give me the history of this line? Is there any hope to ever see trains on this line?

#56890  by kaisen

I have always wondered the same thing, I go under it every morning, as well.

That track doesn't appear to go across the Hudson anywhere, so I always just assumed it went to one or all of the various junkyards/factories/scrap yards in Green Island.

#57081  by CREngineer

That bridge is the remants of the old green island branch, that was abandoned about two years ago. At one time, it was joint with the NYC to Troy, and the D&H went north thru Green Island, Cohoes, and Waterford and reconnected with the mainline at Bell's Lane near GE at a place called JA. What trackage was left last year north of Friedman's Scrap Yard was lifted. Also, the brick buildings at the scrap dealer are what remains of the former R&S Shops, as this was the original main line at one time.

#59482  by onder

Each RR had its own bridge I seem to remember. The NYC was a couple
of feet to the south. At least that is what is goes over the north/south
street just west of the I-state. Two bridges are still there.

As for the tracks north of GI, north of the scrap yard, there was
a switch just above the old shop. I was standing there on the day
they derailed. I dont think they ever went north of there again.
Ill try to dig up the pix for you, they'd might be dated.
The bridge just above the shops is still there and the next one
up that leaps the canal into Waterford has been recently repaired