Railroad Forums 

• REDI Advice

• Discussion of the operations of CSX Transportation, from 1980 to the present. Official site can be found here: CSXT.COM.
Discussion of the operations of CSX Transportation, from 1980 to the present. Official site can be found here: CSXT.COM.

Moderator: MBTA F40PH-2C 1050

#1584803  by FutureLEHopeful

This is my first time using this account in years, and years ago I posted a question about becoming an engineer. I got hired by CSX as a freight conductor recently and was given a REDI start date for November 20th. There were later start dates available but I figured seniority wise, it would be best to take the earliest possible date. Any advice that you guys have to offer would be much appreciated.
 #1584978  by QB 52.32

My advice is to be prepared to make the most of the experience through hard work and to be aware that you will likely be evaluated for the entirety of the time you are there, including hours away from the classroom and training. Hope it's a good first step!
 #1585122  by Knucklehead

FutureLEHopeful wrote: Sun Nov 14, 2021 9:53 am This is my first time using this account in years, and years ago I posted a question about becoming an engineer. I got hired by CSX as a freight conductor recently and was given a REDI start date for November 20th. There were later start dates available but I figured seniority wise, it would be best to take the earliest possible date. Any advice that you guys have to offer would be much appreciated.
It's been 10 years since I was at the REDI for conductor training. You're there to study and learn. If the regimen is the same, you will be tested every day both written and physical tests. CSX is paying for your hotel, so if you have alcohol in the room, if you screw off at the hotel, or get in trouble with the law, you WILL be dismissed and sent home (happened to a few guys while I was there). Pay attention, study at night, and you will do well.
 #1585163  by FutureLEHopeful