Railroad Forums 

• Railfanning in New London/Groton Area

• Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in New England
Pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in New England

Moderators: MEC407, NHN503

#1289399  by YamaOfParadise

I know there's been various topics on this in the past, but I have some unanswered questions, and some of the replies to other threads are a couple of years old now. Most of the questions I have are pertaining to freight railfanning, as I'm already pretty familiar with how Amtrak/SLE timetables in the area, as I usually commute in/out through SLE 2 to 3 out of 5 days a week. I'm a student in the area, and between my school schedule and waiting for the next SLE train west, I have some time gaps I can fill if I don't have work to do. Particularly, this is ~3PM to 7PM on Mondays, ~9:30AM to 11AM on Thursdays, and ~9:30AM to Noon on Fridays. I'm also curious for some viewpoints outside of New London Union and Hamtilton Street; I don't know how safe the area is around State Pier, even though I know there Route 437 goes down there, and seems to give good vantage points from its overpasses over the rails. Any points in Groton are appreciated as well, as that's where I'm actually at.

Thanks in advance for any help.
 #1289425  by The EGE

I would strongly recommend against State Pier; it's a largely empty industrial area where you're likely to attract negative attention of one sort or another.

Bluff Point in Groton is a good area, a state park where you'll get no trouble. Both the small park at the Depot Street entrance (the concrete pad there was the former Midway station), and the path along the tracks heading east have good views. There's an old turntable and remains of the Midway Shops in the woods, too. Most of the rest of Groton has over and underpasses with no good views.
 #1289581  by Ridgefielder