Railroad Forums 

• Question about AC/DC propulsion on modern Diesel-Electric se

• General discussion about locomotives, rolling stock, and equipment
General discussion about locomotives, rolling stock, and equipment

Moderator: John_Perkowski

#1223175  by Ryand-Smith

Hi all! I'm an electrician (work on 15KV/5KV/450/120 AC systems and 12-28VDC control power systems), and I have a question about AC/DC propulsion system on diesel electric trains. For DC vs AC machines, does the DC sets have mechanical/electrical communication to actually provide the rotation out?

For AC machines, are there static exciters/brushless exciters, or do they still use brushes and slip rings to provide excitation to the field? I assume like most normal medium duty switchgears, it is 440/450 VAC 3phase output? Sorry if these questions are a bit technical, and thank you!
 #1223292  by FarmallBob

Ryand-Smith wrote:For DC vs AC machines, does the DC sets have mechanical/electrical communication to actually provide the rotation out?
Yes - DC locomotive traction motors still use mechanical commutation (brushes).
Ryand-Smith wrote:For AC machines, are there static exciters/brushless exciters, or do they still use brushes and slip rings to provide excitation to the field?
Not certain but I believe slip rings/brushes are used. They are simple and relatively maintenance-free.
Ryand-Smith wrote: I assume like most normal medium duty switchgears, it is 440/450 VAC 3phase output?
600 VAC (nominal) 3 phase. Frequency is of course dependent on engine speed (around 80 hz at maximum RPM.)

----

The above is what I recall from a casual trackside discussion with a CSX locomotive electrician several years ago.

...FB
 #1223580  by JayBee