Railroad Forums 

Discussion relating to the PRR, up to 1968. Visit the PRR Technical & Historical Society for more information.
 #1333235  by AnotherPennsyNut

Hello all,
I'm a high school student in AP Statistics, and for my final project I'm analyzing trends in the makeup of the Pennsy's diesel roster over time. Rosters and build/purchase dates for all units were very easy to find, of course, but I'm having much more difficulty locating info on when units were stricken from the roster! I have a fairly good idea of what models survived through to PC, and I've been able to find retirement info for some well-known Pennsy specialties (centipedes, PA's, sharks, the A6 boxcabs, etc.), but by-and-large I can't find any useful indications of when, say, various switchers were retired. Does anyone know where I can locate comprehensive records (or any records at all) of the retirement, sale and/or scrapping of diesels by the PRR?
 #1333375  by Highball116

I would try the Railroad Museum of Pennsylvania in Strasburg or the Railroader's Memorial Museum in Altoona. The former is most likely to have those records, and if not, they probably have an archivist who is familiar with the collections of other organizations. Good luck.

Toby
 #1333645  by Allen Hazen

It would be rally neat if you could get a detailed historical roster of the PRR's locomotives. Such rosters have been prepared for number of railroads-- they have been a feature of the rail fan magazine (now, I think, published only electronically) "Extra 2200 South" and the quarterly journal (I think its title is "Railroad History") of the Railroad and Locomotive Historical Society. Alas, I don't know of one for the Pennsylvania-- too big and too complicated, perhaps (though "Extra 2200 South" did publish -- over several issues, I think -- one for the Southern Pacific).

One thought. Many of the Pennsylvania's locomotive survived to be owned by the Penn Central after the 1968 merger. This