Railroad Forums 

• Pros and Cons of High Speed Rail

• General discussion of passenger rail systems not otherwise covered in the specific forums in this category, including high speed rail.
General discussion of passenger rail systems not otherwise covered in the specific forums in this category, including high speed rail.

Moderators: mtuandrew, gprimr1

#1300950  by NJTforever

Hello guys,

Im a student in High School and I was given the assignment of creating a speech about a topic I feel passionate about. So I chose government support and funding of High Speed Rail in the United States. But I hit a brick wall, I really cant find the information I need. So, I have come to the forums for some help. If you guys decide to help me I will be very grateful but here are the topic areas.

The effects High Speed Rail has on...
..the Environment
..the Economy
..on Society
..other (other information that you guys think is important)

Also information and statistics on road travel.
May you please link the references and articles that you also found on the topic.

Thank You, and with your help. :-D
 #1301385  by djlong

You're not going to find anything as far as effects of HSR *in the U.S.* are concerned. Technically speaking, we don't have HSR here. Acela doesn't count since it only goes 150MPH and only in a few select spots.

So that's not helpful. What you CAN do is look at the following areas:

The TGV (Train a Grand Vitess - Very Fast Train) in France. First line opened around 1981. Many many more lines opened afterwards. Had a MAJOR impact on short-haul airline traffic, among other things.

Look at the Eurotunnel (Chunnel) and see when happened to the cross-channel ferries. Also look at what happened to St. Pancras International station in London. A decrepit Victorian-era building that was nearly demolished has been rejuvenated into a magnificent station.