• Help marking out track center lines on the layout

• Discussion related to everything about model railroading, from layout design and planning, to reviews of related model tools and equipment. Discussion includes O, S, HO, N and Z, as well as narrow gauge topics. Also includes discussion of traditional "toy train" and "collector" topics such as Lionel, American Flyer, Marx, and others. Also includes discussion of outdoor garden railways and live steamers.
Discussion related to everything about model railroading, from layout design and planning, to reviews of related model tools and equipment. Discussion includes O, S, HO, N and Z, as well as narrow gauge topics. Also includes discussion of traditional "toy train" and "collector" topics such as Lionel, American Flyer, Marx, and others. Also includes discussion of outdoor garden railways and live steamers.

Moderators: 3rdrail, stilson4283, Otto Vondrak

by trandell

I'm new to railroad modelling and need some help with my first layout. It's pretty simple. A large oval with a few sidings and a passing track. My biggest challenge currently is accurately laying out my track centerline. I thought I did a good job but I now need to scrap my first attempt and start over because the track is not conforming to the cork I laid.

Specifically, I am having a tough time laying out the curves. I tried marking the center of the track by pinning it and using a marker. The problem I suspect is that the deviation from the real center is too great using an inaccurate method like this.

Do any of you have some tested methods to help me out? Thanks in advance.

by Camelback

Here's an easy solution: use flex track.