• How to Find Out When a Train Rolls Through

• Guilford Rail System changed its name to Pan Am Railways in 2006. Discussion relating to the current operations of the Boston & Maine, the Maine Central, and the Springfield Terminal railroads (as well as the Delaware & Hudson while it was under Guilford control until 1988). Official site can be found here: PANAMRAILWAYS.COM.
Guilford Rail System changed its name to Pan Am Railways in 2006. Discussion relating to the current operations of the Boston & Maine, the Maine Central, and the Springfield Terminal railroads (as well as the Delaware & Hudson while it was under Guilford control until 1988). Official site can be found here: PANAMRAILWAYS.COM.

Moderator: MEC407

by drvmusic

Hi All,

I'm somewhat new to railfanning as a hobby. I live near several road crossings for Pan-Am and was wondering how to find out when a train is going to come through a particular crossing. Is that even possible?

I'm really enjoying this site! Especially all of the info I've received on my favorite fallen flags, B&M and MEC and my favorite locos, B&M 4265, 4266, 4267 & 4268.

Also enjoying the conversation around Conway Scenic Railroad and the MBTA :-)

Thanks!

-DRV
  by Tim Mullins

You should probably pick up a scanner and monitor train movements as it is hard to predict when a freight will go through because they don't have a schedule....Maybe you can hear the whistle from a distant crossing....For passenger trains you can get a
schedule from the MBTA r Amtrak....Enjoy!
  by drvmusic

Tim Mullins wrote:You should probably pick up a scanner and monitor train movements as it is hard to predict when a freight will go through because they don't have a schedule....Maybe you can hear the whistle from a distant crossing....For passenger trains you can get a
schedule from the MBTA r Amtrak....Enjoy!
Thanks! That's pretty much what I was wondering, if there was a schedule you can look up.