Railroad Forums 

Discussion related to commuter rail and rapid transit operations in the Chicago area including the South Shore Line, Metra Rail, and Chicago Transit Authority.

Moderators: metraRI, JamesT4

#96593  by MACTRAXX

Guys: My name is MACTRAXX and I am new to RR.Net. My uncle was a CTA motorman from 1958 to 1986 and I visited Chicago on a regular basis from 1973 to 1988. My uncle retired in 1986. I became interested in the CTA and its operations. I got quite used to the route names and lines. I remember that the CTA began to color-code its lines on their maps in the late 70s. I have no problem with this-it helps riders with identifying and traveling lines in the system. What I do not like is re-naming the line names - which were well-established - in favor of a color. I just cannot get used to calling the EVANSTON EXPRESS and the SKOKIE SWIFT the Purple and yellow lines ,for example. The CTA was right in re-routing the Dan Ryan with the Howard line and Lake with Englewood/Jackson Park lines - a sensible move. I remember hearing about the cartoon characters L.E.Jack and HoDar - a interesting way for people to get used to the new names. The point that I am getting at is re-naming a line with a well-established and known name in favor of a color is NOT a good idea. Systems such as WMATA in Washington where this was done from day one it is different than a full name change which is what happened in Boston with the MBTA. The colors there have some meaning - noted by MBTA and they are: Red Line-Color of Harvard University(on this line) Blue Line - goes thru underwater tunnel and serves beachfront communities Green Lines - Serves many parks and preserves and Orange Line- The original name of Washington Street where the el ran on was Orange Street. I hope to hear pro and con on this and thank you for your time. Thanks Alot - MACTRAXX

#96616  by MikeF