• How to Kill a Proposed Passenger Rail Service

• Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.
Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.

Moderators: sery2831, CRail

by atlantis

Did you know that some folks may be helping to kill proposed passenger rail, and not realize it?
Admittedly, I've been guilty of some of the actions in the past, until I studied my actions and learned from them. please read and learn...

1. Don't attend meetings about new passenger rail plans.

2. Don't write your local elected officials or the Governor. (e.g. lack of a loud voice for Cape Rail)

3. Fall for and repeat the mantra: "It'll never happen." (happening here on Cape) And guess what? It never happens!

4. Be intimidated when a politician yells at you for suggesting rail. This actually happened once. While at a meeting of the Cape Cod Transportation Task Force a few years back, a former member of the Marthas Vineyard Commission told a colleague and myself that the day after he spoke about the need to restore passenger rail to Falmouth, in order to encourage people to leave their cars at home for the trip to Vineyard; state representative Eric Turkington (D-Falmouth) who is anti-rail, allegedly called this member, (who I'll refer to as "Dr. Smith" from "Lost in Space", the coward) and yelled at him "How dare you suggest rail service to Falmouth!" the day after he spoke eloquently about rail. I have to use the word "allegedly" as I didn't hear Mr. Turkington say this himself. But Dr. Smith spoke to us in hushed whispers about the incident, and made no further public comments about Cape Rail!

5. Fall for the opposition's claims that rail service will,"bring bad people"
or that "People will want to get around when they get here." By that same logic, we shouldn't have bus, air, or high-speed ferry service.